Australia’s pride at New Zealand Mens Nationals

Australia’s 17 & Under and Masters teams contested a jam-packed New Zealand Mens Nationals late last week.

With teams playing two games a day, it was a test of endurance for the body and mind.

Australia’s 17 & Under side competed in the 23 & Under division and despite losing every match, showed significant improvement across the three-day event. The Masters team fell just once in their seven matches, against eventual winners Christchurch. Both Australian teams narrowly lost matches against invitational New Zealand teams to round out the event.

Australian 17 & Under coach Thomas O’Riley was rapt with the teams growth across the event.

“The week saw our players needing to manage expectations, performance and behaviors.

“Whilst some players struggled with the occasion, many surpassed even their own expectations and that of myself, especially considering the standard of competition.

“Our players not only managed to experience how New Zealand players play, but also the cultural aspects of Wellington, that concluded with an invitation to dinner with the Rotorua side.

“We will not only remember the netball, but the friendships and cultural diversity that we were so honoured to observe. It was a truly humbling experience.”

Jenni Lewis said that despite the Masters team been made up of players from five states, they gelled together very quickly.

“Some of the team had toured before, some hadn’t, but it was such a tremendous tour.

“Everyone had a different level of experience, but the team bond was brilliant.”

The Trans Tasman Cup is the last international event on the AMMNA calendar for 2018, which kicks off on Tuesday October 22 in Adelaide. Further announcements regarding the event will be made over the coming weeks.



2018 New Zealand Nationals results

23 & Under division
Rotorua 40 def Australia 17&U 21
Waikato Tainui 36 def Australia 17&U 18
Wellington 34 def Australia 17&U 21
Rotorua 31 def Australia 17&U 23
Waikato Tainui 35 def Australia 17&U 22
Wellington 33 def Australia 17&U 17
Waikato Tainui 35 def Australia 17&U 19
NZ Invitational 30 def Australia 17&U 29

Masters (35 & Over) division
Australia 33 def Wellington 26
Australia 29 def Christchurch 16
Australia 40 def Cook Strait 13
Australia 26 def Wellington 18
Christchurch 36 def Australia 22
Australia 45 def Cook Strait 16
Australia 34 def Cook Strait 16
NZ Invitational 24 def Australia 18


Australian 17 & Under team
Sam Bury (VIC)
David Capron (VIC)
Jay Dingle (VIC)
Brandon Merrick (QLD)
Riley Owen (VIC)
Ethan Robinson (QLD)
Josh Rochow (ACT)
Quinn Spencer (VIC)
Bodhi Stringer (VIC)
Caleb Whiley (QLD)
Coach: Thomas O’Riley
Assistant coach: Brieannan DeJong
Manager: May Bailey


Australian Masters team
Clint Allwood (VIC)
Steve Barnden (SA)
Matt Charlesworth (TAS)
Shane Clarke (NSW)
Simon Clulow (NSW)
Brent Ferguson (NSW)
Brent Holtham (VIC)
Ry Kemp (SA)
Steven McInnes (SA)
Craig Moore (VIC)
Bradley Teale (ADF)
Coach: Jenni Lewis
Manager: Narelle Costelo

Trainer: Michael Davis

Umpires: Brooke Quilter, Jake Shepherd and Christina West.

Tour manager: Karen Wild

Leave a reply