2017 Australian Championships wrap-up

After seven days of hard-fought netball the 2017 Australian Championships are over. The AMMNA committee thanks the Sunshine State Mens & Mixed Netball Association for hosting a brilliant event, lead by President Carolyn Sweet and Tournament Director Tammy Holcroft.

The competition across all seven divisions was fierce, resulting in some of the closest finals results in some time. To the ACT – welcome back! It was a return 20 years in the making and we will no doubt see you again next year. To the New Zealand 20 & Under team, we hope you enjoyed the experience. Congratulations to all teams for their sportsmanship and professionalism across the week.

It was a big tournament for change, which included the addition of live streaming for the first time in the Championships’ history. Thanks to Dave Mills for his leadership and direction. We are thrilled with how well the coverage showcased our sport and the overwhelmingly positive feedback that was received.

AMMNA are please to announce that the 2018 Australian Championships will be held in Sydney, and the 2018 trans-Tasman international series will be hosted by Adelaide.


2017 Australian Mens & Mixed Netball Championships Grand Final results

17 & Under
NSW 52 def VIC 27
Player of Final: Brad Cram (NSW)
Most Valuable Player: Kyele Heagney (VIC)

20 & Under
Division Final: New Zealand 47 def Presidents XII 40
Player of the Final: Robert Reeves (QLD)

Australian Championship Final: QLD 47 def NSW 44
Player of the Final: Robert Reeves (QLD)
Most Valuable Player: Robert Reeves (QLD)

23 & Under
VIC 42 def QLD 37
Player of the Final: Billy Mayer (QLD)
Most Valuable Player: Brayden Pastore (VIC)

Reserve Mixed
VIC 43 def NSW 41
Player of the Final: Kate McCarthy (VIC)
Most Valuable Player: Mark Nichols (QLD)

Reserve Mens
VIC Res 1 41 def QLD 40
Player of the Final: Darren Gillespie (QLD)
Most Valuable Player: Stuart Burton (WA)

Open Mixed
VIC 51 def NSW 39
Player of the Final: Elle McDonald (VIC)
Most Valuable Player: Laura Jenour (WA)

Open Mens
NSW 55 def VIC 53
Player of the Final: Eugene Lee (NSW)
Most Valuable Player: Adam Slattery (NSW)

Umpire Awards
Most improved Umpire: Anna Relyea
Umpire of the tournament: Lisa Harm

Leave a reply